Michigan Legends Cars

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

September 27, 2011 - Sean Mac Takes the Gold in Toledo Legends

E-mail Print PDF

Sean Mac Takes the Gold in Toledo Legends

By: Dave DeHem

The Turbo Blue Michigan Legends Series wrapped up the season this past Saturday September 14th, 2011 at the Toledo Speedway with Sean McPherson taking home the top prize for the day. It was McPherson’s second feature win of the 2011 season and a hard fought win at that.

Coming in to the day’s events was the battle for the season long point’s championship between Chance Rice and Matt Todd. Mathematically, all Chance had to do was to start the feature race and the championship was his. That wasn’t what Rice wanted to do and not the way it would come down to end the end as Rice ended up wrapping up his second Series Title with Todd finishing second for the year.

A pair of heat races were the first events of the program with heat race number one going to Sean McPherson with Tyler Turner and Chris Bither following in second and third. Heat race number two went to Tony Monge over John Turnbull Jr., and Chance Rice.

Tyler Turner led the field down to the green flag for the 30 lap finale of the season on this tight 1/5 mile bullring. Toledo always breeds close racing and this day’s feature was no exception. A second lap caution saw two cars retire to the pits before the field was re-aligned for the run to the checkers. Sean McPherson was able to get into the lead and was never less than the top spot for the remainder of the race; however it was absolutely no Cake walk for this young and talented driver.  Matt Todd and Chance Rice, along with Tony Monge ready to take advantage of any slip up by the top three.

Lap after lap saw McPherson withstand the challenges of Todd and Rice until a lap 16 caution for a one car spin saw the field slowed. McPherson would retain the lead at the restart with Monge getting by Todd for the second spot while Rice continued to pressure Todd and try to get to the front.

Eventually Todd and Rice would tangle on lap 25 and Rice would go to the rear for the five lap dash to the finish. McPherson would lead the last five laps with extreme pressure from Monge as “Tony the Tiger” could get below Sean Mac in 1 and 2 but Sean would come back in turns 3 and 4 which made for a very exciting last five laps. Matt Todd sat in third spot just licking his chops waiting for the front running duo to slip up so he could snare the win but alas, it was not to be as McPherson took the win over Monge while Todd, Cody Falkner, and Tyler Turner would complete the top five.   Chance Rice would rebound to finish in sixth followed by Trenton Besgrove, Guy Fire, Dave DeHem, and Jack Lehman rounding out the top ten.

With the races for the season done, Chance Rice is the Series Points champion along with being the Pro Division Champ. Rookie Driver Cody Falkner traveled from Canada each week to claim the Championship in the Semi-Pro Division and is the top finishing Rookie so He will be the Series Rookie of the Year, Loren Short is the Young Lions Division Champion, Rick Kilbourn wrapped up another Golden Masters Division Championship while Chris Bither took his second Masters Division Championship. Chance is now a two time Series Champion having won his first title in 2008 as well. He joins Jon Arendsen, John Turnbull Jr., Rick Kilbourn, and Billy Simmons as two time champs while Levi Rouster is the series only three time champion.

The top ten in points for the 2011 season of the Turbo Blue Michigan Legends Series are Chance Rice, Matt Todd, John Turnbull Jr., Sean McPherson, and Tony Monge the top five. Fifth through tenth spots were claimed by Loren Short, Guy Fire, Cody Falkner, Ben Rouster, and Trenton Besgrove.

In all, 35 drivers made starts in the series this season which saw 15 races at 7 different race tracks in 3 different states. Chance Rice was crowned Champion for the second time and 3 former series champions were in competition. Plans for next season are already under way as well as final details for the 16th annual Awards Banquet to be held on November 5, 2011 at the Crystal Gardens Banquet Center in Howell, Michigan.

For complete results, driver stats, and banquet information check out the official website of the Turbo Blue Michigan Legends Series at www.michiganlegends.com or contact Series Founder and Promoter John Turnbull Sr. at 517 546-6100. Until next year have a great winter and “We’ll See You at the Races” in 2012.

Michigan Legends
....where racing matters



Aug Sep 2015 Oct
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Member Of

Michigan Speedway Promoters Association
Michigan Automobile Racing Fan Club

Dealer For


Presented By


Sanctioned By